MOSH LEGO® Competition Winners Announced | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

MOSH LEGO® Competition Winners Announced

More than 100 contestants battled it out at the Museum of Science & History’s LEGO Competition held today.  The contestants, which included kindergartners through 9th graders, worked in teams or as individuals to construct original LEGO designs.  The top prize winners included a farmhouse, a moveable bridge and a spaceship.
Contestants were divided into three judging categories based on grade levels.  Judges were provided by AIA Jacksonville.  And, Matt Basford, radio personality for Lite 96.1 and 99.9 Gator Country, served as emcee.   
The winners were as follows:
Red Zone (K – 2nd Grade)
First Place:  Aric Abella
Second Place: Spencer Martin
Third Place: Cade Thigpen
Blue Zone (3rd – 5th Grade)
First Place: The Brickinators - Jaden Roy & Dylan Dominey
Second Place: C.C. Brickmeisters - Jasson Roberts, Laine Roberts, Cole Pittman & Libby    Pittman
Third Place: Logan Higby
Green Zone (6th – 9th Grade)
First Place:  The Atomic Bombs – Trip Barsh & Mackenzie Barsh
Second Place:  Molly Neil
Third Place: Kai Cornwell
Robotics Zone (K-9)
First Place: Miles Every
A separate award – the People’s Choice Award – was presented to Hunter Murray.  Throughout the competition, the public was able to cast a vote for their favorite LEGO structure for $1 per vote.

The Museum of Science & History (MOSH) is located at 1025 Museum Circle near Friendship Park. MOSH, first chartered in 1941, inspires the joy of lifelong learning by bringing to life the sciences and regional history.  Museum hours are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday – Thursday; 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Friday; 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday; and 1 to 6 p.m. Sunday.  Admission is $10 for adults, $8.50 for active and retired military, $8 for children ages 3 through 12.  There is no admission fee for children 2 and under or museum members. Admission is $5 on Fridays.

Murray Hill Ortega Businesses